What Intelligence Certifications are Available?

Intelligence certifications* are typically intended to validate the knowledge and skills of professionals working in the intelligence community. In many cases, they are recognized as a sign of expertise and commitment to the industry. Whether you are interested in threat analysis, human intelligence, homeland security, or data collection, completing a certification program may help you advance your knowledge and skills. 

*Completion of any program at American Public University System does not award professional certification, but may be helpful in preparing to sit for such certification.

Some of the most prominent certifications in the Intelligence Community are those created and managed by Defense Intelligence Training and Education Board (DITEB) within the Undersecretary of Defense for Intelligence or USD(I). These certifications are intended to enable an agile and responsive mission-ready workforce and promote an integrated intelligence and security learning and development enterprise.

  1. Certified Counter-Insider Threat Professional (CCITP)
  2. Certified Defense All-Source Analysis (CDASA)
  3. Collection Management Professional (CCMP)
  4. Intelligence Planner Professional Certification (IP-CP)
  5. GEOINT Professional Certification (GPC)
  6. Security Professional Education Development (SPeD) Certification program
  7. Intelligence Fundamentals Professional Certification (IFPC)
defense intelligence agency
Certified Counter-Insider Threat Professional (CCITP) Certification

These certification programs measure if an individual possesses the knowledge and skills as defined by the CCITP-Essential Body of Knowledge to perform specific intelligence tasks.

There are two certifications: the Intelligence Fundamentals Professional Certification (CCITP-F), and the Intelligence Analysis Professional Certification (CCITP-A). The certification programs measure individuals understanding of specific topic areas, including:

  • Policy and Directives
  • Social and Behavior Science
  • Research
  • Synthesis & Tools and Methods
  • Vulnerabilities Assessment and Management
Learn More About the CCITP Certification
Certified Defense All-Source Analysis (CDASA) Certification

This certification program is designed to meet the demand for an agile, knowledgeable intelligence workforce. The program assesses knowledge and analysis skills. It is available to all Department of Defense (DoD) civilian and military personnel who perform all-source intelligence analysis.

Eligible individuals must meet the following requirements:

  1. Remain in good standing with their respective agency
  2. Possess a minimum two years of analysis experience
  3. Achieve a passing score on the CSADA-I exam
  4. Read and sign an ethics statement

The CDASA-I credential is valid for five years, after which certificate holders must retest or advance to CDASA-II. 

Learn More About the CSADA Certification
functional manager
Collection Management Professional Certification (CCMP)

The CCMP program recognizes military, civilian and contractor intelligence collection management professionals. The certification exam assesses a knowledge base that is common, core and critical to collection management activities.

The CCMP certification exam is open to individuals who are a DoD or IC military, civilian or contractor and have earned a TS or SCI clearance by the time of certification assessment.

Learn More About the CCMP Certification
defense security service
Intelligence Planner Professional Certification (IP-CP)

The purpose of this certification is to develop, define and measure core competencies for Joint Intelligence Planner (JIP) professionals in the intelligence enterprise. The JIP-I certification foundational and full performance execution of intelligence planning.

Learn More About the IP-CP Certification
geospatial intelligence
GEOINT Professional Certification (GPC)

This certification program is sponsored by the National Geospatial Intelligence Agency and is part of a broader initiative to professionalize the Department of Defense Intelligence Enterprise workforce. The purpose of the program is to assess the knowledge and skills of geospatial intelligence professionals to ensure they can successfully execute the GEOINT mission.

Learn More About the GPC Certification
multiple defense intelligence tradecrafts
Security Professional Education Development (SpēD) Certification Program

This certification ensures there is common set of competencies designed for security practitioners that promotes interoperability and facilitates professional development and training of certified security professionals.

All Department of Defense personnel members and federal employees or contractors in security positions are eligible to pursue a (SpēD) certification.

Learn More About the (SpēD) Certification
intelligence analyst
Intelligence Fundamentals Professional Certification (IFPC)

This certification program was developed under direction of the Secretary of Defense for Intelligence and Security to provide the defense intelligence workforce with professional development opportunities. The IFPC measures the core expectations of what intelligence professionals, regardless of their agency, should know.

To earn the IFPC, professionals must hold U.S. Citizenship and meet one of the following eligibility categories:

  1. Government - military or civilian personnel currently employed by the DoD
  2. Industry - employed by an organization eligible for contracts with the U.S. Intelligence Community
  3. Academia - enrolled or employed in the past six months at a U.S.-based, regionally accredited, post-secondary academic institution with a relationship with the DoD.
Learn More About the IFPC Certification
Gain Your First Certification

The IFPC is immediately available to APUS students who meet the qualifications mentioned above.  The exam is offered at multiple testing locations throughout the United States.


Learn More About...

Next Steps

Courses Start Monthly
Next Courses Start Aug 5
Register by Aug 2
Man working on computer