Skip Navigation

Outstanding New Faculty Member of the Year Award

Our faculty awards recognize outstanding experienced and new faculty at the graduate and undergraduate levels who demonstrate teaching excellence, as well as leadership and scholarship in their discipline.

  • Joined APUS between January - December 2022
  • Taught at least four sections
  • Meets APUS standards for classroom quality and academic excellence
  • Made an outstanding contribution in their first year (some examples include retention efforts, course design, or research)
  • Completed nomination form
  • A copy of the nominee's current CV, to include scholarly publications
  • Evidence of:
    • Nominee's interaction with a student (examples: assignments, feedback, discussion responses)
    • Nominee's classroom innovation, including a before/after analysis of the change 
    • How the nominee has helped a student be successful in a course or has helped retain a student
    • Nominee's support of the university mission (examples: helping others make connections, supports course development, shows compassion, flexibility or professional support)
    • Outstanding contribution in their first year (examples: retention, course design, research, etc.)
    • A narrative or video of the nominee’s teaching philosophy. Should be no more than 250 words or two minutes in length
    • Statement of support from the nominee's Department Chair, Associate Dean, or Dean
  • Nominations may be made by faculty, staff, students, alumni, and those familiar with the nominee’s work
    • Nominees will be notified and asked to provide a narrative or video of their teaching philosophy. Should be no more than 250 words or two minutes in length
  • Top candidates in each academic school are presented to the Academic Awards Committee for review
  • The University Provost grants final approval
  • The award may, but will not necessarily, be awarded annually to one undergraduate and graduate faculty member per academic school 
  • Open to part-time and full-time faculty members
  • Award recipients will be honored during Commencement weekend, and should we have an in-person celebration, one night accommodations and individual travel expenses to attend Commencement will be paid for by the University
  • Award recipients receive a crystal trophy 
  • Award recipients are not required to travel to Commencement to accept the award 

Outstanding New Faculty Member of the Year Recipient

Dr. Vicky Graham

Outstanding New Faculty Member of the Year, School of Health Sciences

Vicky Graham joined American Public University System in 2020. She is a member of the full-time faculty in the Sports & Health Sciences program. Dr. Graham earned her Bachelor of Science degree from Bowling Green State University, Master of Science from the University of Tennessee, and Doctorate in Athletic Training from the University of Idaho. She is a member of the APUS Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion Curriculum Review Committee and the School of Health Sciences Curriculum Committee. Dr. Graham contributed the module Social Distancing and Staying Healthy at Home: Flattening the Curve to the APUS course titled: COVID-19 101. She is engaged in research related to providing athletic training services in secondary schools in underserved communities. She has received an APUS Faculty Research grant in support of one of her projects. In addition to her work at APUS, Dr. Graham is involved as a member of several committees for the Eastern Athletic Trainers' Association and frequently presents topics related to preventing sudden death in sport and clinical management of concussion.


The submission deadline is now closed. Please stay tuned in Fall 2022 for additional information and contact the University Awards Committee if you have questions.