Skip Navigation

English Proficiency for International Students

Non-exempt, non-U.S. citizens must provide verification of English proficiency by submitting the results of a standardized test. The university’s preference is the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), but we will accept other standardized tests as listed below.

We're here to help. Call Us!

Mon - Fri:  8 a.m. to 9 p.m. ET
Sat - Sun: 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. ET

Accepted Tests & Scores

Accepted Tests

Undergraduate Accepted Score

Graduate Accepted Score

ACT English
(must be less than 5 years old)



SAT Verbal
(must be less than 5 years old)



WAEC (formely the GCE)
(No timeframe)

English C4 or higher

English B2 or higher

Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL)
(must be less than 2 years old)


Paper-based test

520 with TWE of 4.0

550 with TWE of 4.5

Internet-based test

Reading 21
Writing 23

Reading 24
Writing 27

International English Language Testing System (IELTS)-Academic Version
(must be less than 2 years old)

Reading 6.0
Writing 6.0

Reading 6.5
Writing 6.5


You may be exempt from the English proficiency requirements if you:

  • Attended an accredited U.S. college (associate degree or higher)
  • Are a member of the U.S. military
  • Earned a U.S. high school diploma or U.S. GED (does not apply to doctoral applicants)
  • Completed an English composition course with a grade of B- or higher at an accredited U.S. college or its transferrable equivalent
  • Are a citizen of the following countries:
  • American Samoa
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Bermuda
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Canada
  • Cayman Islands
  • Dominica
  • England
  • Falkland Islands
  • Gibraltar
  • Grenada
  • Guam
  • Guyana
  • Ireland
  • Jamaica
  • New Zealand
  • Northern Ireland
  • Northern Mariana Islands
  • Puerto Rico
  • Scotland
  • Solomon Islands
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • St. Lucia
  • St. Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago
  • U.S. Virgin Islands
  • Wales